Sharing your SystmOne Health Record
What are the benefits of sharing my SystmOne health record?
We know people understand the importance of health and social care professionals having access to basic information about patients and the people they care for. This is especially important when care is urgent or required during the evenings or weekends. The information your GP holds if you share will save time and could also be life-saving in some circumstances.
Without sharing being available people would need to wait for information to be sent from GPs during surgery hours, which could cause delay in providing treatment, care or medication.
If I haven’t chosen to share my record and I have a medical emergency will the services treating me be able to access my record?
If you are being treated by a service that uses SystmOne certain clinicians will be able to override your refusal to share either with your permission or, if you are unable to give your permission, because it would be in your best medical interests to do so. Any override of your sharing settings will be monitored to ensure that it is appropriate and done in the best interests of your care.
I am happy to share my record with other healthcare services in general but there are some things that I would prefer to keep confidential between me and my GP. Can I do that?
You can ask your GP to mark individual items on your record held at any service be marked as Private. When your full record is shared, the Private information will not be visible to any other service. GPs are used to receiving these requests and may have already marked parts of your record as private if they feel it’s inappropriate to share so don’t be afraid to ask.
We will record on your agreement to share your records and then other health professionals ONLY will be able to see vital information for your care.
Please click on the link below, to access the 'Sharing your Records' leaflet and consent form which tells you more about this. Once you have completed the form, please hand it in at Reception.
If I choose not to share my record will other services involved in my care be able to see any of my medical information at all?
No. That is why we encourage you not to opt out of sharing. In these instances the only data they can see is basic demographic data such as your name date of birth, address and your registered GP practice name.
What is included in My SystmOne health Record?
The SystmOne record includes details of your visits to your GP and includes Information about medications you are taking, any allergies you may have or details of
Medication that hasn’t agreed with you in the past, details of any health conditions which mean you shouldn’t have certain medicines and any factors which need to be considered before discharging you from care.
Will other services be able to see everything on my record?
For another NHS service using SystmOne to view your record they must first gain your consent to view and also they must have registered you under their care. If you give permission they will be able to see your full record except for any items you have asked your GP to mark as private.
Will Insurance companies and private healthcare have access to my shared record?
No. Only NHS organisations directly caring for you and use the SystmOne clinical system have access to the SystmOne shared health record.
Can I change my mind about sharing my record?
Yes. You can change your mind at any time. Let each practice or service know if you want to change your original choice. You will be asked to complete an opt-out form by your GP practice to record your request of not sharing. If you are already opted out please speak with your GP practice if you wish to opt in and they can make the change for you.
How do I opt out?
Pick up an opt-out form from your GP practice or download one from your GP Practice website. Once you have completed it return it to your practice who will record your preference in their computer system
I’ve made my decision and are happy to share – what do I do next?
Complete the form below and return it to the surgery. We will update your record and make sure that the necessary permissions are enabled for you.
Why are registered patients expected to opt out of My Care Record instead of voluntarily opting in?
Your SystmOne record adopts a “consent at the point of care” model. You will always be asked for permission to view your SystmOne medical record. If consent is refused, then the clinician will not be able to view the record. Consent refusal will be documented by the treating clinician and recorded by the system.
If you wish to opt out you should only do so after considering the implications.
I have previously opted out of the national Summary Care Record. Do I need to opt out of Record sharing in SystmOne as well?
Patients who have opted out of the National Summary Care record will be automatically opted out of Record sharing in SystmOne. You can opt in to sharing in SystmOne and remain opted out for the Summary Care Record or Vice Versa. Please speak with your GP practice if you wish to change your sharing preferences for either the Summary Care record or the SystmOne health record.
What security is in place for my SystmOne Health Record?
All computer Software systems used by the NHS have to conform to stringent national safety standards. This is the care records guarantee. The system itself runs on a secure NHS network which is separate from the internet so cannot be compromised from unauthorised access. For another service to view your record they have to be using the SystmOne clinical system. They also have to ask your permission to view your record. You also have to be registered for treatment with them. The staff using have to use a smartcard which looks like a credit/bank card and the chip on the card authorises them for a certain level of access so they can only see the level of detail required for them to carry out their job role. The system also has a tamper proof audit trail that details the name, time and date or any access and any data added, changed or deleted to ensure appropriate and safe use. Your GP practice would also be alerted when you receive care elsewhere – unless you have asked them not to disclose this information.
Care.Data Objection Form